After my first good night’s sleep in several days, I awoke this morning bright eyed and bushy tailed.  It was amazing how much faster today went compared to yesterday.  I’m really thinking that there’s a lot of truth behind the importance of sleep!

I met with Mark this morning to prepare for our conference call with Denmark next week.  Mark told me that he often gets nervous, and the best way for him to calm his nerves is by being well prepared.  I would say that the feeling is mutual; I definitely share that anxiety with him!  In our conference call next week, we’ll be informing the Danes about all that I’ve done so far and how Novo Nordisk can use the information I’ve collected to help them in the future.  I was given another task by Mark to revise a spreadsheet, and I was finished with that by mid-afternoon.  The remainder of my day was spent looking at trials/drugs that have failed and are no longer on the path to becoming marketed.  Luckily, I have most of the information from earlier.  This time I’ll use this in a more beneficial way for the company by going more in-depth about the opportunities they could aim towards in the next year or so while having more of a high level view of those programs that Novo Nordisk is unlikely to attempt.

Throughout the day today and yesterday, it became quite apparent that we employees on fifth floor of the building will no longer have a view of the Space Needle.  Some made jokes about harassing the construction crew by making signs and such, but today it was sad to look out and no longer see Seattle’s famous landmark.  I took a few pictures, and I even have a picture from my first week to show the difference that has been made in the nine weeks I’ve been in Seattle.

The view from my desk window at Novo Nordisk the on June 15.

The view from my desk window at Novo Nordisk the on June 15.

The last peek of the Space Needle, captured at the beginning of the day today.

The last peek of the Space Needle, captured at the beginning of the day today.

The progress made by the end of the day today.  Nine weeks ago, there was only the concrete column.

The progress made by the end of the day today. Nine weeks ago, there was only the concrete column.

So long,

Ashley

