I woke up five minutes before I was going to tune into the online meeting with our diabetic complications unit and the diabetic complications focus group in Denmark.  At 6:00AM, the team had already met for two hours and now was the time to watch as Mark presented all that I’ve done in the ten weeks at Novo Nordisk.

Shot of one of the slides from the presentation this morning.  Mark explained to Denmark colleagues about who I am and what I worked on during my internship.

Shot of one of the slides from the presentation this morning. Mark explained to Denmark colleagues about who I am and what I worked on during my internship.

The meeting went quite well.  I was actually contacted by Marie, who was at the meeting and works with compiling data.  She was hoping to do a teleconference with me, but I had to let her know that tomorrow is my last day.  Maybe I’ll be able to contact her when I’m back in Iowa.

After hopping off the bus and climbing the same five flights of stairs, I got to work with my presentation that would occur this afternoon.  I went through the slides and then met with Mark to practice.  He had a few remarks, and I found it very helpful to practice before this afternoon.  I continued to work on this until 12:45 came and Mark grabbed me to go downstairs to the café, where the presentations by all three interns would take place.

We got down there and the other two had already determined the order.  I was relieved when they said I would go last, where I hoped to go anyways.  I like closing presentations so that I have an idea of what others have done.  I don’t remember what the other interns did, because I kept reading through my notes.  The café was packed.  I was quite nervous and ran out of water.

I walked up with a very dry mouth and listened as Mark introduced me to the entire NNRC staff.  I think it went very well overall.  The staff laughed a lot at an analogy Mark made for me, that went along the following lines.  The pathway analysis tool we used was like buying an album on Amazon.  If I’d buy Taylor Swift’s 1989 album, they would recommend buying Ed Sheeran’s latest album.  Mark had to interject and say that he said Tom Jones instead of Taylor Swift, but I wasn’t familiar with that artist so I had to switch it up a bit.

Asha, who is in charge of the protein engineering unit, came up after my presentation and praised me for how I did.  She is at the same level as PV, and so I was humbled to have her take the time to speak with me.  I went upstairs and had another staff member, Jason, complement my presentation.  I couldn’t get over how great of I company I worked for here.  They make it difficult to say goodbye.

I asked Mark what my next task would be, as I had already started to reorganize all of the data I had on file.  He came over and chatted for a little while until he finally suggested that I take the rest of the afternoon off.  I was shocked, to be honest, and had to ask if he was serious.  He was, and I got to have additional time to see the city and pack my bags, which I have been putting off for awhile.  I guess I should start that now…

Best regards,

Ashley

