As I await my flight back home in the Denver airport, I cannot help but express my gratitude to those who have made my summer one that I will never forget.

First I want to thank Logan Moeller, who happened to tell me about a program called Students with Diabetes on my way to class one day last fall.  Not only have you shown me this opportunity, but you are one who understands what it’s like to live with a disease like diabetes.  I’m so thankful for our friendship.  After all, if you weren’t around, who else would I make jokes about diabetes with?

I want to thank those at Students with Diabetes for their wonderful program, specifically John Swantson and Nicole Johnson.  The work that you do every day cannot go without recognition.  I am forever grateful for what your program has done in my life.

To my family and friends, thank you for your love and support.  In the toughest moments in Seattle, you were there to give me a call and show me that I mattered.  I have never felt so loved.  I cannot imagine what my parents went through sending their daughter to be alone for ten weeks in a city I’ve never been to over 1,600 miles away.  I would not be the woman I am today without your guidance.

Finally, to my corporate family at Novo Nordisk, I thank you for the most incredible ten weeks of my life.  Jill Miller, thank you for sorting through thousands of applications to find me one of about fifty positions.  Joe and PV, thank you for what you taught me as part of the diabetic complications team.  You not only gave me great insight on the science behind what you do, but you also took the time to make sure that I felt at home while I was in Seattle.  And to Mark, words can hardly express my gratitude for all that you have done as my mentor.  You went above and beyond your job description, whether it was taking me to Mt. St. Helens or the frequent rides around the city.  I hope that your life isn’t too dreary without me!

As I see it, life is more than where you are; it’s who you are surrounded with.  I know that God has placed some of the most incredible people in my life.  To you all, thank you.

Sincerely,

Ashley

